A quote from the life of St Philip Neri:

“At first I lived in the land of hard work until one day the angel of God came and led me to the land of silence and there I learned there was so much more to life. I slowed down and realised how much we are in danger of missing it if we are not careful. Then he came and led me to the land of love and in that land I learned the most important of life’s lessons. Then one day the angel came back and he led me to the land of suffering. And there in that land the last vestiges of selfishness were purged away. And then, one day, the angel came back and he said, ‘Now you Philip are ready for another land, you are ready to be taken into the inmost heart of God.’ And that was the day he look me to the land of laughter.”

Hard work, Silence, Love, Suffering, Laughter

I think I’m going to have to think about that one.

