This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We enjoyed our holiday to South West Wales again this year and have a few photos to show you. Hope you like them.

St David’s

Last year it poured with rain and for a while we thought we would be wet again this year. It did indeed turn out to be one of our wettest days but more like intermittent heavy drizzle. The Cathedral is quite spare in its shape and decoration – simple rather than bare. I like the fact that it is uncluttered and that there are plenty of spaces to stop and keep quiet (not silent but as a tourist I could hardly resent the presence of other visitors there).

The city is tiny – lot smaller than our own county town  both in area and in population. Still, it is not too touristy and the information centre cum art gallery is pleasant enough: scores well on the “decent cup of tea” scale.

Bosherton lily ponds

I am not sure I want to tell you about this place. It is owned by the National Trust and we saw a real, live, wild otter in broad daylight, in the middle of the afternoon: extraordinary! We decided that watching that otter fishing, swimming and eating was the highlight of the holiday. We have seen otters in zoos but this was something special.

Meanwhile in the village I had my mandatory cream tea – if we holiday in the UK, a cream tea is a must have – it was good. While it may not have had a perfect score it was certainly better than the High Tea I had at Fortnum and Mason’s last January!

Teifi Valley Railway

The biggest problem we had with this place was that we got lost driving there. Part of the problem is that the post town on the address is several miles away and we were relying on a small-scale road atlas as we had not brought the relevant OS Landranger map with us. We got there in the end. It is the sort of place that would suit families though I guess that older teenagers and young adults might want to do something else unless they are interested in steam trains / heritage railways. One good thing about the place is that it is run by enthusiasts and volunteers. I might say “amateur” but in the sense of loving what they do – not in the sense that we sometimes use to indicate that something is not done very well.

As well as the trains there was a miniature railway, a play area, garden centre, second-hand shop and crazy golf. The last on that list was amateur in the sense of “not done terribly well”. The challenges were not very well thought out and in places impossible to do. When I say “impossible” I mean the trigonometry meant a hole in one was impossible and that the layout did not give enough clues as to what one was supposed to aim for. Still, we did all the holes and made up our own rules as we went along.

Pendine Sands

We had some debate as to how pronounce “Pendine” and ended up rhyming with “fine” – but we did not check with local residents.

I wanted to go in order to visit the Museum of Speed (which turned out to be one of the smallest museums I have ever been to) and to see the world-famous Pendine Sands. Up until the 1950s, this was the place where land speed records were attempted, set and broken. When the tides are right you have a wide, flat beach some seven miles long, which suited those record makers. Much of it is under the aegis of the Ministry of Defence as the area makes a good testing ground. Good if you happen to live in London, no so good if you live in South Wales, I suppose!

When I finally got onto the sand I discovered that low tide took the sea at least a mile out – and it was receding even as I slogged along the soggy strand in my trainers. I also discovered that while the beach was very flat, the sand, in fact was not what you would call smooth: wavy ripples made a pattern pleasing to look at but awkward to walk over.

The photos include one of “Babs” a speed record-making vehicle. What took me by surprise was the bicycle chain technology involved.

Hope you enjoyed the photos.

