It is hard to write a review without revealing the plot. Suffice to say the heading (above) sums it up really.

I have mixed feelings about this genre of film. I do not like, enjoy or relish violence – that includes fictional violence even if the context makes it relevant to the story. I get that action movies and thrillers involve explosions and people being killed. The villain usually gets their comeuppance in the end. That said, I did go to see “Skyfall” at the Cinema and, with the aforementioned caveat, I was impressed.

This is an action film with a plot and a narrative that referred to other episodes and icons of the Bond series. The choice of car was a case in point. As well as the action scenes (violence/extras being shot at or exploded) there was humour (I actually laughed out loud at one point) and poignancy. The Ralph Fiennes character (present in just five scenes) kept you guessing and eventually we are shown whose side he is really on.

And, in this film, Bond is not a young man so one of the narrative threads is whether/how much that matters. We also learn a little about Bond’s background. Incidentally, “Welcome to Scotland” will never seem the same again.

It will be interesting to see how Q turns out. By the way, the one bit I correctly predicted involved Q: suffice to say, beware what you plug in.

One niggle: we were told that they were District line trains but they were not. Anyone who has been on the London Underground will recognise tube trains such as run on the Piccadilly line. The plot needed the train to run on the District line. I guess they filmed at the disused station at Aldwych – an ex Piccadilly line branch.

My overall impression is that the maker of this Bond film is a storyteller capable of holding more than one idea at a time; and they painted for us characters who can hold our interest.

The story is nonsense but told well enough for the suspension of disbelief for a couple of hours or so.

I think I would watch it again; this time knowing where the surprises are and relishing them. All of them apart from one, near the end.

Four stars, I think, or 9 out of ten (one deducted for the violence)

