“To  see a World in a Grain of Sand, And a Heaven in a Wild Flower, Hold infinity in the palm of your hand, And eternity in an hour” (William Blake, 1757-1827)

In a previous post, in “Random photos“, I spoke, perhaps slightly disparagingly of “experts” who might look daft staring at a bit of rock. Well, at a workshop at the “Bishop’s Bible Day” (diocese of Peterborough, UK) we were asked to do exactly that.

And it sort of worked. A Benedictine sister did a kind of “worked example” of prayer that began with taking a good, long, careful look at a pebble. Each participant in the workshop had picked up a smooth pebble from a pile that had been brought into the room specially. The one I chose happened to be the only one that was broken but never mind. Something about “the stone the builders rejected” came to my mind. I can’t remember much of the meditation – as usual my mind wandered and I spent most of the time coming back to what we were supposed to be paying attention to. Still, I could see that others in the group were getting something useful out of the exercise.

It was one way of thinking about a phrase used referring to Jesus by Peter in his first epistle “Come to him, a living stone” (1 Peter 2 verse 4), I suppose. I may come back to this topic later.

