I put “incurable optimist” into the web search engine and got, among the entries, patricktheoptimist.org. The link is included for your interest. I wanted to follow up the phrase from one of the trees in our parish Christmas Tree Festival a little while ago.  It was decorated and sponsored by a local MNDA group (see http://www.mndassociation.org/ for more information about that). It featured a sufferer who described himself as an “incurable optimist” meaning it in both senses: his disease is incurable but he chooses to be optimistic. See also patricktheoptimist.org for his blog.

I investigated another entry from the search and discovered www.brightquotes.com. It sent me to the page on optimism. Some of the quotes made me smile, some made me wince. I also looked at humor and similarly got a mixed bag. I include a selection that caught my eye:

2 is not equal to 3, not even for large values of 2. (Grabel’s Law)

Anybody caught selling macramé in public should be dyed a natural colour and hung out to dry. (Calvin Trillin)

We’re not lost. We’re locationally challenged. (John M. Ford)

The most compelling argument for intelligent life in the universe is that none have tried to contact us. (Calvin and Hobbes)

If caterpillars were meant to fly, God would have given them wings. (Anon)

Both optimists and pessimists contribute to our society. The optimist invents the airplane and the pessimist the parachute.  (Gil Stern)

I’d like to be an Optimist….. But I doubt if it would work. (Anon)

In the long run, the pessimist may be proved right, but the optimist has a better time on the trip. (Anon)

I’m immortal… so far. (Earle Robinson)

