and then it dawned on me…
Sorry about that, but when I first heard that joke it did make me smile.
Here is a little story that also made me smile.

Sherlock Holmes and Doctor Watson went together on a camping holiday in the countryside. In the middle of the night Holmes woke Watson up and pointed to the starry sky above them. “Look at that, Watson. What do you see?”

“I see thousands of stars,” replied Watson.  “And what does that tell you?” asked Holmes.

Hoping to impress his friend, Watson continued

“Astronomically it tells me that there are millions of stars and galaxies and maybe life on other planets; theologically it suggests to me a wonderful creator; philosophically it makes me consider how small we are in the universe; meteorologically it tells me that we may have a frost by dawn and a sunny day tomorrow. What does it tell you?”

“Watson, old chap,” replied Sherlock Holmes, “it tells me that someone has stolen our tent!”

There are various versions of that story. The following one probably also has more than one version going round:

An alien walked into a cafe and asked for a cup of tea. “That’ll be ten pounds, please,” said the waitress when she brought it to him. “You know,” she continued, “I was just thinking, we don’t get many aliens in here…”

“I’m not surprised,” said the alien, “at ten pounds a cup.”

There are different reasons for writing a blog. Some people seem to think that the world is just waiting to benefit from their wisdom and knowledge. Others are trying to sell you something and that might be consumer goods, services or political or religious ideas. Then there are others who are simply looking for a place to put down their thoughts or record their daily journal. There was one I came across the other day which consisted in someone’s daily food journal. They needed to keep a record of the food they ate each day as part of their studies so they wrote their blog. The possibility of other people reading it was incidental to the main reason for writing it. The same sort of thing applies here. I am writing mostly for my benefit so if anyone read this, then that is a bonus. I hope you find something of interest among the entries.

When I started writing this blog is was partly to help me deal with my depression. I was off work and beginning to find strategies that would help me. As anyone who has had to grapple with depression may know, there is no quick fix and it takes more than one thing to help get better. Talking with a trusted friend is one, for example. Another is maintaining a sense of humour – hence the inclusion of jokes that have caught my fancy.

A cheerful heart is good medicine (Proverbs chapter 17 verse 22).

