The Next Bubble – Don’t Get Fooled Again. You might like to take a look at this post. I can’t vouch for the author but I did find his article informative and thought-provoking. The moral dimension here is that people are so easily driven by fear or led by greed into chasing a quick profit. The adage “if it seems too good to be true it probably is” applies here. Virtues like patience, contentment and patience are called for, I suggest.

Since I first noticed that article the world stock markets have indeed taken a bit of a tumble. Some experts suggests putting money into commodities such as food or metals, especially gold. Meanwhile other experts complain that the prices of commodities are artificially higher than would be caused by straight-forward supply and demand – because of people speculating that they might be a safer place for their money. High commodity prices driven, in part at least, by fear.

I’m not about to sink my life savings into some dead cert investment nor do I feel the pressure to follow the crowd into the latest safe haven. But I do get that nagging feeling that I’m not “making the most” of my savings. Why the nagging? Is this fear or greed trying the softly, softly approach?

The Preacher was right: wealth gives you more things to worry about; the more you have the more the concern that your money will either be lost of stolen. “The lover of money will not be satisfied with money; nor the lover of wealth, with gain… The surfeit of the rich will not let them sleep.” (Ecclesiastes chapter 5 verses 10 and 12).

I am not vaunting poverty as a good alternative but may be the lesson to learn is that enough is perhaps less than we think it is.

